comfort food

Today, it’s all about comfort food.  Actually the last two days have been about comfort food…..cause my baby boy is very sick.

Well, he may not be my “little” boy like he is in the picture above …but when he is sick then immediately, in my little mind, he becomes a my little boy and that means he needs his momma.

I like to be needed…it’s a mom thing.

So, to try to make him feel better (or sabotage my diet) I decided to turn the ovens on at home.

My lovely friend Lisa-Anne sent me a recipe on Facebook that was the ultimate 13 year old boy’s comfort food….one big ol’ chocolate chip cookie.  I have recipes for a chocolate chip cookies but the cool thing about this one was it was all made and cooked in an iron skillet. How cool is that!

Here is the link if you are interested in making this scrumptious and oh so easy dessert! Oh! It is also very good if you top it with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream.

It doesn’t stop here by any means. (meaning there is more cooking to come)

This morning I needed comforting. I mean, do you know how long it’s been since I have been up every four hours during the middle of the night? Seriously! In fact, I had to set my alarm on my phone to ensure I would get up to check his temperature and give him something to keep his fever down.

Especially since yesterday during the day, I forgot about giving him something for several hours and when I checked his temp it was a scary 104.7!!! I was not going to let that happen again….no way!!!

So, this morning all I kept thinking about was this…

QUICHE!

Mmmmmm……..breakfast comfort food! So, I went on the hunt for what I could put into my quiche.  Eggs…check.  Cheese…check. Bacon….that’ll work. ohhhh, and fresh spinach! YUM!   They were delicious, straight from the oven with a side of fresh strawberries.

Later today, after a much needed nap (you know, that getting up every four hours during the night thing) I decided a good healthy, hearty soup would be just what we all needed.

Like this

Ahhhh….comfort foods.

What do you like to cook when you are craving comfort foods?

About thepeeryhouse

I want to be the hands and feet of Jesus, so I serve others through food.
This entry was posted in cooking, family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to comfort food

  1. Karen Fitch says:

    Hey, can I have the recipe for the soup??? My family would love it.

    P.S. Just a hint to help with germs! Put a sliced onion in a room and it will suck up all the germs! You might want to pass that along to your family in Frankfort! I put them around my house this time of year and we stay healthy, it is proven!!!!!!!

    Good luck with the onion and think about giving me that recipe. I love the choc chip cookie recipe, just have never owned a cast iron skillet, don’t know how to season one.

    • Karen,
      No need to worry about the cast iron skillet anymore….Lodge now makes a pre-seasoned skillet! It’s wonderful…Everyone should have a cast iron skillet! Makes the BEST cornbread you will ever eat! 🙂

      I will definitely try the onion trick!! and will let you know how it works. Thanks so much!

  2. Leigh Ann Russell says:

    Chicken and dumplings! I combined both of my grandmother’s recipes into my own. I think about them both when I make it. It’s no doubt Melody’s favorite comfort food.

Leave a Reply

